ET 513 Project #8 Worked Example ScreenCast

I was so excited for this project, as I have been trying to figure out how to create a video for a flipped classroom. I have been talking with IT at my school and other teachers, but none of us knew that we could record using our Smart Boards! Sounds unbelievable, but it is true!

Dr Hall suggested that it was very easy to record on a Smart Board, so like many when trying to find out how to do something, I “googled” how to use the Smart Board recorder. It is incredibly easy. I ended up creating a Google Slide presentation, and used that as my screen cast.

The hardest part was limiting the text to only what is necessary! I had a script, but found I kept ad libbing as I was solving the problems. This took a few takes, but finally I think I had it. I did find one physics error in the narration at about 2:20, and I mentioned that in the comments on You Tube. For my topic, I chose to solve three horizontally launched projectile problems, which can be quite time consuming. The finished product is about 20 minutes, longer than I would like, but it again, solving projectile problems take TIME to solve these problems. I included a link to the original Google Slide presentation as my transcript is in the “notes” section. I also had You Tube add the closed captions, but there are some errors in translating form my Boston accent to the closed captions. Again, I “googled”how to fix the closed captions, and it was relatively quick!

I realize that on my last solved problem, I must NOT have hit play, and I  do not read the problem, just give the students a chance to solve & then do a quick explanation if needed.

While creating this video was relatively easy, I think that I will need to practice to get “good” at these, but I will definitely make more of these videos; they are prefect for Physics, as it requires practice to solve problems. I have been looking for a way to create videos for “flipping my class”, and there are several good websites Flipping Physics and Kahn Academy, but I have read that students prefer videos in their teachers’ voice. So I   plan to create a series of videos going forward (now that I know how!). I will use this video in the next couple of weeks, and get feedback from my students. I will still give my students the links for Flipping Physics & Kahn Academy if they would like to use those for a review, but will also have my own toolkit of videos!

Here is a link to the original Google Slide Presentation, the transcript is in the notes section for each page.

One response to “ET 513 Project #8 Worked Example ScreenCast

  1. Pingback: ET 513 Week 16 “e-Learning Strategies for F2F Classrooms” | Caroline Cooney: EdTECH Learning Log

Leave a Reply

