ET 513 SketchNote project #1 Weeks 4/5

Background: In weeks four and five, we read chapters four & five from “ELearning and the Science of Instruction”, and created our Sketchnote Project. First, I am so glad to have read chapters four and five. It sheds some more light on some of my peers’ week three projects! Our week three assignment was to post on good and bad course ware, and many people included the elearning Principles in their posts. Chapters four and five introduce the Multimedia Principle & the Contiguity Principle. Some of my peers (in other classes) have also included the elearning Principles, so I am glad to finally be learning about & understanding the elearning Principles!

Sketchnotes: First thoughts… I was excited & apprehensive to try creating my own Sketchnote. I have seen some pretty amazing examples of Sketchnotes, and I think they are cool ways to connect with information. As I read about & watched tutorials on Sketchnotes, I can see how some of my students could really benefit from the process. In fact, recently, a student who is struggling in class came to see me, and we talked about how the Sketchnotes process might help her.

I was apprehensive because I have messy handwriting, and my drawing skills are minimal, but I definitely wanted to try it!

Challenge: Choosing a tool… My next challenge  was decide whether to go “old school” and draw with paper & pencil or try a  “21st century” web 2.00 tool. I do not own an Ipad, and drawing and writing on my small Iphone screen is extremely challenging. Additionally, I wanted to mimic what my students might be doing. At our school we have access to Chromebooks (without touchscreens) so  I decided to search for sketchnoting tools for Chromebooks. I found some that seemed promising, but drawing (and writing) w/ a mouse is very difficult. In fact, it looks like “chicken scratch”! I thought about using an infographic tool like Piktochart, but I think using a tool like that defeats the purpose of Sketchnotes. To me, Sketchnotes should capture the ideas that stand out “in the moment”. I think Piktochart is a great tool for creating “more polished” presentations, but I do not think tools such as Piktochart allow for the “in the moment” flow of ideas.

So I searched for ChromeBook apps…Some of the tools that I explored include:

AwwApp: This allowed me to type words and add images. But I found that it did not allow for free flow in the moment (which I think is key for Sketchnotes). Additionally, deleting items proved more difficult than just a simple “undo” button. If I had a touch screen, I think it would have been more user friendly. Here is a screen shot of my attempts at AwwApp.

screenshot-2017-02-09-at-12-04-06-pm

Explain Everything: This is a very cool tool, and I want to explore it further (if and when I get a touch screen). I think it would be another avenue for creating presentations for not only me, but also my students. Here is my  image of “playing with this app”.

et-513-test-for-week-4-w-explain-everything

Above is evidence that writing and drawing with a mouse is almost impossible for me! 🙂

Pixlr, I did not find this tool intuitive, and the icons were so small, I could barely see them! (even with my glasses!). Here is my screenshot with Pixlr.

screenshot-2017-02-09-at-12-18-04-pm

Sketchboard: I actually like this app. On glitch was that I couldn’t figure out how to rotate the arrows (which bothered me), but I think this could be useful once I play with it some more. Here is my screenshot of using Sketchboard App.

screenshot-2017-02-09-at-12-09-18-pm

Final Product: I ultimately decided on “old fashioned” paper and pencil. The next challenge was finding a way to upload the project. While doing it by hand allowed my thoughts to flow freely, it was challenging when I wanted to change things. The BIGGEST challenge was making it legible (did I mention that I have messy handwriting?!?) I ended up making four pages of sketchnotes on chapter four;  I enjoyed the process, and wanted to keep trying.

Uploading Challenges: I tried scanning on my printer at home, but it was “too light” so I needed to make the words & drawings darker, and then re-scan. They were still hard to view, so I scanned on the photocopy machines at work & saved as PDFs.  The PDFs are easy to read, but I can’t figure out how to embed a PDF into WordPress (so the PDF links are at the bottom of this page). The Jpegs are below.

Final Thoughts: I would like to introduce this to my students, as I think some students would benefit from it. One thing I realized in this process is that I am rather textual in my approach to notes, but I have always done a very basic version of this in my notetaking as I have certain images & symbols that I use as a sort of shorthand when I take notes.

Below are the JPegs from my home printer/scanner.

page-1

Page One Overview of MM

page-2

Page Two Image Types

page-3

Page Three: Constructing Meaning

page-4

Page Four Novice vs Advanced learners

Below are  PDFs  (from the photocopy scan) of my sketchnotes.

Page One: week4-5-p1_3

Page Two: week4-5-p2_3

Page Three: week4-5-p3_3

Page Four: week4-5-p4

Leave a Reply

