Ed Tech 502 Module 9 Ed Tech home page: default.html

In this week’s assignment, we were supposed to use  a template to create our default homepage.  Great, I thought, I will follow along in the template, and basically fill in the blanks. Not so easy!  It really requires looking at both the HTML & CSS code, to interpret the template.  Also, very important to read the comments.

Since I am still working toward a solid understanding of the code, it took quite a while to understand the CSS & the CSS comments.  For me, I would read the CSS code, and change one thing such as background color to get a feel for what the CSS code went with on the page, I would then make the changes that I wanted, and create my own comment to go along with page.   I also used Inspect mode to figure out where there was too much space on the page.  I left the template comments because they were helpful to me.  All of my comments have -cooney in them to help distinguish them.

I ran into some trouble saving, didn’t  realize I needed to click on site root when I saved.  Also, the copy & paste of the CSS validation badge kept giving me errors, so I found a CSS badge and linked that to the CSS validator site.

This week’s assignment is specifically not for use in our classrooms, so I ventured away from MHS Hornet Green, Black & Gray.  I wanted to use my favorite color purple, but purple can sometimes be difficult to read, so I went with a gray and pink themed page.

Here is my default.html page.

Here is my 502 Projects Page.

AECT standards for this week:

1.1.2.b Create instructional plans (micro-level design) that address the needs of all learners, including appropriate accommodations for learners with special needs.

1.1.2.d Incorporate contemporary instructional technology processes in the development of interactive lessons that promote student learning.

1.1.3.b Demonstrate personal skill development with at least one: computer authoring application, video tool, or electronic communication application.

1.3.b  Identify at least one instructional model and demonstrate appropriate contextualized application within practice and field experiences.

1.4.b  Describe and/or document specific learner characteristics which influence the selection of instructional strategies.

2.3.2 Design, produce, and use digital information with computer-based technologies.

2.4.1 Use authoring tools to create effective hypermedia/multimedia instructional materials or products.

2.4.2 Develop and prepare instructional materials and products for various distance education delivery technologies.

2.4.4 Use telecommunications tools such as electronic mail and browsing tools for the World Wide Web to develop instructional and professional products.

2.4.5 Develop effective Web pages with appropriate links using various technological tools.

Leave a Reply

