Ed Tech 502 Module 3: 502 page with CSS:

Week 3 for EdTech 502 is in the books.  Like last week, the tutorial videos were exceptionally helpful!  I watched the second video “502 Page Assignment Explanation”  several times, again, pausing and going to Dreamweaver to change & update my page.   The Lynda.com videos were also quite helpful at helping me understand the setup of the pages.  I feel more comfortable at figuring out where I am in a page, and how the pieces all relate as a result of watching the Lynda.com videos.  For example, in my page, h2 is part of the section which is part of the body.  Lastly, I had to go back to re-watch week 2 videos on the badges and uploading to server.

Here is the link to my 502 page.  I attempted to add a link on my original HTML page to this learning log.  I thought it was all set, as my code for it is error free but the link doesn’t work.  I will ask my classmates about this one.  Thankfully, Professor DeLoose showed me the correct code & the link now works.  Funny, I thought I had typed that originally, but there must have been some small error.  (Next, I would like to learn how to create a link that opens in a new page!)

Snags this week:  I couldn’t figure out how to get “the boxes”.  I was able to get a box around my “header 1 (h1)”, but the “section” was just a big gray blob, even though I had changed the background color.  Finally, after looking at the teacher example, I added “header 2 (h2)” information, and voila, the boxes appeared!  I am not sure if I understand why, as ‘h2’ is part of the ‘section’ , and the ‘section’ has CSS code for color, etc.  Why wasn’t it showing up?  I will revisit this as I learn more.  At one point, I needed to go through line by line, and compare my code to the teacher example, as well as the video.  Also, my HTML5 validation badge disappeared, so I needed to go back & look at the week 2 video, to add that.  I’m not sure what happened there, but it seems to be working now.    My code is error free, but does have warnings, but according to week 2 video, warnings are ok, as they are associated with the newness of the code, and how quickly it is adopted.

Another question I had was what is the difference between the units for font size?  Being a science teacher, units are very important, but I did not have a good understanding of the units used for font size.  I found this link very helpful to me (written in 2008, so a little old).  Based on this summary, it looks like % or em is the way to go.

Lastly, I chose to create my page in MHS Hornet colors.  My thought process here is that the pages I create that link to this page will be in the same color family so they seem to go together, and I might be able to use some in my classroom, so the MHS colors would make sense.

For AECT standards, I chose:

1.1.3.b Demonstrate personal skill development with at least one: computer authoring application, video tool, or electronic communication application.  2.3.2 Design, produce, and use digital information with computer-based technologies.                                                                                                                                 2.4.5 Develop effective Web pages with appropriate links using various technological tools.

Leave a Reply

