Ed Tech 501, beginning of class thoughts…Learning Curve

Whenever I take a class, at some point, I am always struck by just how much there is to learn!  That’s a good thing, its fun to learn new things, and improve skills.  Sometimes, knowing how much there is to learn can be stressful.  I don’t want to let it worry me, so I try not to think of it as so much to do, but rather an opportunity for me.  Same is true with this class.  As Dr. Schroeder said, “Relax!”.  I also feel like in this class, there is an added learning curve, as I’m not   tech savvy.  I thought I was making strides using Twitter, but boy do I have a lot to learn! There are so many options out there, I have to figure which avenue is best for the task at hand.  For example, there is Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, work email, personal email, Boise State Email.  There is also Diigo, Google Circles, Google chat, Google Reader, Adobe Connect rooms, and Boise State Moodle forums.  Not to mention other on-line tools such as Edmodo, Engrade, and the on-line tools such as x2 and Naviance that we use at work!  So many websites and webtools, I’m sure some have very different functions, but I bet there is some duplicity.  I need to figure out how to manage all these sites & tools, while also learning which tools will help my instruction.  Let the learning begin!

2 responses to “Ed Tech 501, beginning of class thoughts…Learning Curve

  1. I know what you mean by so much technology! I have a difficult time keeping up with everything and it seems like every year there is something new and neat and worthwhile. But how do you decide what you use personally, professionally and have students use? That is difficult as well.

Leave a Reply

